You are here

United States Bone and Joint Decade Elects New President and Directors

Release Date: 
Friday, May 30, 2003

Chicago – May 30, 2003 – The United States Bone and Joint Decade (USBJD) has elected a new president—Regis J. O’Keefe, MD, PhD, professor of orthopaedics and oncology, Rochester University Medical Center, N.Y. Dr. O’Keefe takes over as President from Stuart Weinstein, M.D., who was recently named second vice president of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons.

The election took place on Friday, May 30, 2003 at the USBJD annual meeting. As both a practicing orthopaedic surgeon and an award-winning clinical scientist, Dr. O’Keefe is ideally suited for this role.

At the same meeting Michael J. Condit, MD, was elected USBJD treasurer and John P. Dormans, MD, Kenneth J. Koval, MD and Andrea McConville, RN, were elected members-at-large of the USBJD Board.

“I have had the opportunity to work closely with Dr. Weinstein as well as other leaders in the USBJD over the last several months and am firmly committed to the goals of the organization. We plan to continue the outstanding work that was provided under the leadership of Dr. Weinstein,” said Dr. O’Keefe, “I believe that a successful USBJD can improve awareness and provide additional resources to our understanding and treatment of bone and joint (musculoskeletal) diseases and that is the reason for my strong commitment to this activity. This is what is required to reduce the high level of prevalence of bone and joint disorders – affecting one in seven Americans, costing our society $300 billion a year, a figure that is expected to increase sharply in the coming years with an aging population.

“The continued strength of the USBJD relies on its inclusiveness of all organizations that provide care to individuals with musculoskeletal diseases. To date more than 65 organizations have declared their support for the Bone and Joint Decade and it is critical that we continue to build consensus and develop common goals for the member organizations. Through working together, all organizations involved in musculoskeletal disease and care will benefit individually and in aggregate.

“All fifty states as well as President Bush have recognized and proclaimed this as the Bone and Joint Decade. As such, we are in a unique position to raise awareness of the importance of musculoskeletal disease, and more importantly, to increase the resources available to promote musculoskeletal health for future generations of Americans. Clearly this is dependent upon the active participation and commitment of all of the member organizations and our ability to develop a coherent and unified message.”

Dr. O’Keefe also serves on the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Council on Academic Affairs, the executive committee of the American Orthopaedic Association and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation’s board of trustees. Dr. O’Keefe succeeds Dr. Weinstein as the Academy’s representative to the USBJD.

Dr. Condit represents the American College of Rheumatology on the Board, Dr. Dormans, represents the Scoliosis Research Society, Dr. Koval represents the Orthopaedic Trauma Association, and Andrea McConville represents the National Association of Orthopaedic Nurses.

The Bone and Joint Decade ( is the global initiative to raise awareness of musculoskeletal health, stimulate research and improve people’s quality of life. President Bush has declared the years 2002-2011 National Bone and Joint Decade in support of these objectives.

Contact: Toby King
(847) 384-4010
[email protected]